-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Outfitter
OP Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
I would like to anneal .45 Colt brass but worried about too much heat at the head. Can the candle method be used while holding the brass at the head? Thanks.

Faith and love of others knows no mileage nor bounds. That's simply the way it is.
dogzapper

After the game is over, the king and the pawn go into the same box.
Italian Proverb

GB1

S
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
S
Well I am not Mule Deer, but I am the former CEO of Cast Performance Bullet Co, and I have a lot of experience in reloading much of which is with handguns.
So I will give you a short easy way to do it and if Mule Deer has one to add, I am sure it will be good info too.

A candle is not going to add heat fast enough to the mouth to keep the head of the shell from also softening.

A red hot block of steel is very good but requires a heat source large enough to get it hot. You need only place the case mouth against a red hot block for about 1 second to anneal it and then drop the case in water.

The easy way to anneal case mouths of handgun brass is to melt a small pot of lead and bring it to about 675 degrees.
De-cap you brass and dip the case mouths about 1/2" deep into oil, and then about 1/4" deep into the lead holding them by the heads with pliers. Hold them in the lead about 2 seconds, and then drop them into water. The oil keeps the lead from sticking to the brass.

You then clean your brass normally and load.

Campfire Member
Campfire Member
Nice tip

M
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
M
Sakoluvr,

Yeah, you can use the candle method on .45 Colt cases.

The only cases I've never tested it on were much shorter handgun rounds, where it was impossible to hold the mouth close enough to the candle flame. But have tested with Tempilaq on cases as small as the .22 Hornet, where it worked fine.