Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
D
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
D
Just curious as to how long you keep your bow.I know some guys upgrade every year or two,some have the same bow for 20 years.Since I started shooting mathews I tend to keep them for a while.Had my 1st Mathews an MQ32 for 6 years or so,replaced it with an Outback about 3 years ago.

My dog is a member of the "Turd Like Clan"

Covert Trail Cameras are JUNK

3 Time Dinkathon Champion #DinkGOAT

GB1

W
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
W
With regards to compounds...

1st bow...old Bear thingamajig. Had steel axle brackets riveted to the limbs and a total of four wheels IIRC.

2nd bow...PSE Thunderflight, bought new, replaced 2 sets of limbs.

3rd bow...High Country Excaliber, bought new, replaced 3 sets of limbs. (still got that one as a fishing bow).

4th bow...Mathews Ultramax, replaced limbs once already, new first year they were out.

You can now know how long I keep (using) my bows, how often I shoot and probably how old I am to boot...grin.

[Linked Image]
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Still have my Browning Nomad that I got in 1981... My PSE from 1990, and my Matthews LX from 2001. Still take 3-4 hogs every year with the LX, and have no intentions of changing it!

NRA Endowment Member
D
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
D
1st bow was a Bear whitetail purchased at Kmart,long long ago had it for a while,then came the Oneida Eagle,then a Proline PointBlank,then Proline Speedstick(crap bow)then a Golden eagle 3D formula,Then a Golden eagle evolution and then the Mathews mentioned above.Have a cousin who still shooting his PointBlank.

Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
When I first started archery in the 1980's I would trade every year or two. I have since learned "It's not the bow". I now only trade every 4 or 5 years. I currently have an '03 Hoyt Ultratec and have yet to see a 'new' bow that is $800 better. Maybe next year.