Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
The KAC E3 bolt made of Aermet 100 alloy which is a high end alloy material per the attached below; as to being better, yeah, I'd have to say it's better.

I do a lot of work with various steel & CI alloys, much of which is heat treated & coated with various high end functional materials via plating, thermal spraying & PVD, & Aermet 100 appears to be high end as far as pertinent properties go, but I have no direct experience working with it.

Do a search on AR-15.com for Henderson's AR/M4 high round count ongoing reporting........it's the rental range just outside Vegas & they've been reporting over a period of time about various parts & rifles that get +100,000K rounds, in full auto & semi mode.

I have to think they are fairly credible as they are just searching for the most reliable components for their own use & reporting on their experiences.

Aermet 100 Properties

MM

GB1

J
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
J
Would you think you would need the whole BCG or just the KAC bolt?

Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
KAC has a disclaimer saying that the E3 bolt only fits KAC E3 barrel extensions, so it is not intended to be used in other standard barrel extensions (& the cam pin is also a different diameter than with a standard pin as well).

But I don't know if that's fact or just their marketing hype; they did tell me verbally, at one time, that in an emergency, I could get by with a standard bolt in their rifles, but I've never tried using a standard bolt in a KAC rifle or an E3 bolt in a standard barrel extension so I really don't know what is fact & what is BS.

But I can tell you that their guns are the nicest, softest shooting rifles that I own & that if I was going to need one to go to war with, KAC would be my 1st choice, hands down.