Hop To
H
hardcut Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
H
Hello,
This weekend my father in-law gave me a bow that he got as a kid in the 1930s. They lived on a sustenance farm near Akron Ohio. Considering it was the Great Depression, I'm sure this was not an expensive rig. It�s a longbow, solid wood, not much grain w/a simple leather grip. It has a dot where one should set the arrows. All around pretty neat w/ the family connection. It has its string, maybe original.
I'm new to bows and arrows. How could I go about finding its draw weight? It's a little over 5" long. The only thing that concerns me is that one limb has a nice slight taper but the other is much more curved. So, when strung up, the string is NOT straight up and down perpendicular to the bow but instead, about in 15 or so degrees off. Its like one limb is from a flat bow and the other a hybred recurve. He said it has always been this way. Perhaps his dad bought it "cheep", not surprising given the times. He never hunted it, just targets and screwing' around.
So is the bow flawed or is that how it is support to be? Can it be fixed? The limbs are not twisted. Thanks for any insight. I posted a while ago "Lost in a Bow Wilderness� You were all very helpful.
Thanks, HC

GB1

H
hardcut Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
H
Hybred recurve" is a bit dramatic. One limb simply has more arch than the other. Thanks!

V
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
V
Pics, would help a LOT!

S
Campfire Ranger
Online Content
Campfire Ranger
S
Best bet hang it on the wall, as it will , more than likely break, and they can hurt ya! John

Deer Camp! about as good as it gets!
L
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
L