-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
I would very much like to start trapping red fox around our place, but I know nothing about trapping! Could anyone recommend a good book or dvd that a beginner could get a good start with? There seems to be a lot of different books out there, but I want to find one for the complete novice, i.e. me!
thanks!

"To study without a book is to sail an uncharted sea, While to study only from books is not to go to sea at all" Sir William Osler
GB1

Campfire Member
Campfire Member
Best thing to do is find an experienced traper in your area and ask him to be your mentor. Most all trappers will let you go with them on their line and will teach you a lot of what you need to know Reading good books will help but nothing beats hands on experience Find yourself some of Charlie Dobbin's books IMO his instructions are the best!

C
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
C
Find your local trappers' organization and join up. You'll find all the help you need.

Mathew 22: 37-39

K
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
K
One of the most used sets is the dirt hole set. Get your gear together and start to practice making the set in your backyard a few times a day. Come trapping season you will be able to bang one out real quick without making it a mess and leaving your scent all over.

My mentor used to time me and threatened to not let me in the woods if I didn't do it in less than 5 minutes.

-Piss into the wind.
J
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
J
I would check out trapperman.com, and look through some of the threads there. I just started trapping 2 years ago, and learned everything I know from that site. Very knowledgable people.

Hope I dont get banned for promoting another site! just thought i would help.

joe

Providing digital marketing services for startups & small-to-midsize companies - including website design/hosting, videography and editing.

www.jolinmedia.com
IC B2

Campfire Member