Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
J
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
J
Always interesting to read the thoughts her on LR hunting. Only one person in this thread (Jordan) mentioned the voodoo.......WIND. It doesn't make a crap what, or how much your equipment costs, doping the wind correctly is baffling to even the experts, especially on first, cold bore shots. I was visiting with a guy with last name Tubb a couple of weeks ago when we were whitetail hunting. He was mentioning the same thing.

It is irrelevant what you think. What matters is the TRUTH.
GB1

B
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
B
Originally Posted by wyoming260
The number of rounds is not the point of learning to shoot long range. Shooting time should be spent learning how a certain gun and load works, over varying conditions and what input changes how the shot lands. Buying a preset up long range rifle and scope does not buy that experience. I have been using the same rifle for about 10 years, as time has passed and more rounds have passed through it( with care ) the predictability of where the shot lands has gone up. When I first used this gun a 400 yd shot was a long one. Since then I have shot game at ranges out to 700 yds. And at that distance, I was not guessing about anything, the outcome of the shot was certain in my mind before the trigger broke. This confidence comes from shooting over varying conditions at various ranges and reading the conditions properly. It also includes times where that knowledge tells you not to pull the trigger, because varying conditions, (mostly gusty swirling wind here ) make being about to predict shot placement impossible. Paper , steel and rocks are where you learn these things and save the animal targets for certain shots in predictable conditions. A lot of people do not have the patience to not shoot when they should not. The programs available for ballistics and accuracy of new rangefinders are all part of the exercise that improve the shot predic