Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
W
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
W
When looking through the safe yesterday for a barrel, I ran across another barrel unexpectedly, which I didn’t recall having. Photos below.

Obviously it’s a Win M-70 Pre-64 300 H&H bbl for a standard rifle, rechambered at some point to 300 Wby. Confirmed current chamber by placing a fired 300 Wby case in the chamber.

IIRC rechambering like this became somewhat popular in the 1950s & 1960s so I assume this may have happened then.

I am not an expert on Pre-64 variants so have a couple of questions for the experts:
1) based on the roll mark, what would be the approximate time period this barrel was manufactured - pre-war, transition, other?
2) Who is/was R. W. Lathrop? I assume he’s responsible for the rechambering?
3) Is the barrel tenon thread diameter & tpi the same on the Pre-64 and the Classic CRF LA?

Although I’m not a Wby fan, I’m considering using this barrel, which seems to have pretty good rifling and chamber to external visual inspection, either on an old non-collectible Pre-64 receiver or on a Classic. I haven’t run a borescope down the bore yet but may do so if the idea seems feasible.

Any opinions on this thought?

[Linked Image from ][Linked Image from i.postimg.cc] [Linked Image from i.postimg.cc][Linked Image from i.postimg.cc]

Is life so dear, or peace so sweet, as to be purchased at the price of chains and slavery? Forbid it Almighty God! I know not what course others may take, but as for me, give me liberty of give me death! P. Henry

Deus vult!

Rhodesians all now

GB1

P
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
P
Answers to your first question....
- Winchester cataloged the 300 H&H Mag until 1963
- Winchester began using the one piece die in 1950 and added the H&H at that time
- Does the barrel have an integral or soldered front sight ramp? soldered would be 1952 or later
- If there is no two digit under barrel date stamp your barrel was manufactured after 1956