Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
M
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
M
I'm new to these machines, but I'll be taking delivery of a Pioneer 1000 in a few days. it's the two-door, single bench seat, dump box model. 1000-3 some refer to it as.

Looking at basics I need to add to the rig. Things like spare tire, jack, lug wrench for starters.

I see scissor jacks, high lift jacks, farm style bumper jacks. What do you guys, (and gals) prefer. I'm talking about a jack to stay on the vehicle, not a shop jack. mostly something to change a flat with.

Thanks, Shane

GB1

G
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
G
Evenin, just a cheap scissor jack will work. Ya can usually find a spot or make one were you can put it & then crank it till it's tight & not rattling around loose. Winches are reallllly handy to but I'm sure you've figured that out. Get one big enough,at least 4500lbs. Will also lift the front end (or rear) off the ground if there's a tree limb handy. Mount the winch on a plate of steel & have it so it will mount on both ends. Trailer ball or even hook onto rack, ft or rear. Enjoy. GWPGUY. πŸΎπŸ‘£πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦πŸ‘πŸ»

M
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
M
Thanks for that. I was leaning toward a simple scissor jack, for my needs. Sometimes I overthink things.

This Pioneer is getting the add-on winch kit, and plow kit, I believe it is a 4500lb winch.

Campfire Kahuna
Online Content
Campfire Kahuna
Jacking an independent suspension can be tricky. There often isn't anyplace on the hub for a jack. If you put it in the middle to lift the whole end, you'll need a very tall jack as the wheels will sag as you lift. Try it at home to see what works. You might need to make something for the jack to lift against. Consider that if the tire is flat, the jack will need to start lower. Does it have enough lift to get it high enough for an inflated tire?

β€œIn a time of deceit telling the truth is a revolutionary act.”
― George Orwell