W
Finally got around to getting the videos worked up

Last edited by Wolfdog91; 01/30/24.
GB1

S
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
S
Thanks for posting that Wolfdog! Very informative...

Good luck with your rifle, and having fun playing with it.

& Welcome to the Campfire...

cheers
seafire

"Minus the killings, Washington has one of the lowest crime rates in the Country" Marion Barry, Mayor of Wash DC

“Owning guns is not a right. If it were a right, it would be in the Constitution.” ~Alexandria Ocasio Cortez

S
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
S
W.D.

A couple of comments on your annealing and sizing videos. I can see some things that are causing you problems.

I've got a lot of experience on doing this sort of stuff.. and also being self taught, I also taught myself of WHAT NOT TO DO.

1. Where you were crushing your annealed brass but not so with your unannealed brass:

Couple things I would point out that might be your problem with the annealed brass. The 17 cal, makes for a small neck, so you have very tight tolerances. The reason I believe you are not having a lot of problems with unannealed brass, but are with the annealed brass, is that the annealed brass is air cooling and is having tighter neck walls, than the unannealed brass is having.

you can solve this problem, by putting a cleaning rod brush down the neck and cleaning the gunk out of it, left over from the last firing of the round Do this before you anneal it.

the easier way, I'd try, is to neck down the brass first to 17 caliber, and THEN anneal it afterwards. You're putting the cart before the horse in this step the way you are doing it now.

I'd also ask Redding if they have a tapered decapping rod. ( and yeah, take the decapping pin off of it. ). Remove the factory one, and neck it down to 17 cal, without a decapping rod in there. Then it will take a second pass thru to open up the neck, to seat a bullet in that thin neck.