Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
W
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
W
I am new to revolvers. When looking at .45 revolvers I see that the Vaquero is more expensive than the Blackhawk. Can someone tell me why. Which would be more desirable for deer hunting. Thanks in advance.

GB1

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
You want a BlackHawk for hunting because they have adjustable sights.

I own both. Vaquero’s are more “traditional” because they have fixed sights, like the original Colt Single Action Army models.

But when trying out various loads to find the “right” one to suit your type of hunting, you’ll find that different loads and different bullet types and weights often shoot to different point of aim.
With the BlackHawk model’s adjustable sights, you can adjust the sights and load to the correct POA.

Last edited by chlinstructor; 02/10/24.

"Allways speak the truth and you will never have to remember what you said before..." Sam Houston
Texans, "We say Grace, We Say Mam, If You Don't Like it, We Don't Give a Damn!"

~Molɔ̀ːn Labé Skýla~
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
My Vaqueros have fixed sights and the Blackhawks have adjustable sights, so it was easier to get center hits with the Blackhawks . . just adjust the sights to match the center of a good-grouping load and you are set.

Cowboy Action shoots generally classify the Vaquero as a "traditional" model and the BH as "modern", but for deer hunting, a .45 Colt in a Blackhawk would be my choice. That and plenty of practice. I have no insight into the cost differential of the two models, and I like both for different reasons. A shooting range nearby may have rental guns for you to try before you buy.

“You must endeavour to enjoy the pleasure of doing good. That is all that makes life valuable.”
Robert E. Lee, in a letter to his invalid wife.
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
What they said.