Hop To
Page 2 of 4 1 2 3 4
M
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
M
Dave,

I have two of the Elite Series with Rainguard; one is the 3200 series, a 3-9x40, and the other is the 4200 series, a 2.5-10x40. I agree, the Rainguard is amazing.

GB1

C
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
C
Originally Posted by Dave_in_WV
Magnumdood, if you haven't had the pleasure to use optics with Rainguard you will love it. I have a B&L binocular with it and it does work. You can breathe on it in cold weather and the fog that forms evaporates. I've intentionally tried to get mine to fog on the outside so it wouldn't work and couldn't (had to try it to see for myself.). The temp was from high 20's to the 30's. I can't say how good the 6500 series is as I have no experience with them. Dave

While I haven't had the chance to handle a 6500 I did do some shooting the rain last weekend (more of a mist) and my uncle was using his 4200 with Rainguard. Pretty impressive, I must say I can honestly see the appeal and furthermore the optics on that scope are very nice . . . no doubt the 6500 is a step up as well.

As for Leupolds answer (rain cote lens), what a complete joke. Why would I want to spend 50 bucks or so to have an extra lens (further reducing the optical qualities on the scope) when I can get a scope with rainguard? Leupold is asleep at the wheel and quite frankly much of their line is unchanged and overpriced for what you get - basically you pay for the name. Albeit they have top notch CS and still a decent product but the competition is passing them by - look no further than a Conquest for an eye opening experience . . .

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger