Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Dan360 Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
I am new to 24hourcampfire, so I'd like to say Hello!

I am interested in the Weatherby Mark V Ultra-Lightweight. I've been lugging a Winchester M70 around and I'm interested in a rifle that is lighter to carry in steep country. With that, I also want something with a full length barrel to get as much velocity as I can out of the cartridges I am considering, the 270 Winchester and 280 Remington.

Does anyone have one of these rifles or any experience with them? The barrels are pretty light, so I'm curious about how accurate they are. I'm also curious about how the light weight of the rifle affects shooting from the field. Thanks for any responses guys!

GB1

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
Hi Dan, welcome to the fire! You just opened a can of worms! Weatherby fans or, well, fanatic. Same thing with the .270 and .280, though eveyone knows the .280 is best! smile

The only thing worse than a liberal is a liberal that thinks they're a conservative.
Dan360 Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
I guess there is no better way to get started than start some hate and discontent! J/K. They seem like great rifles. I've considered other light-weight rifles like the Remington M700 Alaskan Ti, the Kimber 8400 Montana, NULA, etc. Seems like the Weatherby is priced fairly reasonably for what it is.

I really do like the 280 Remington. I also like the 270 Winchester. 6 of one, 1/2 dozen of the other.

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
Sounds like your wanting custom rifle performance from a factory gun. I'd say a Weatherby is pretty good way to do that. Of course, now the Sako guys will get offended (they're even more "ate up" than the Weatherby guys!).

The only thing worse than a liberal is a liberal that thinks they're a conservative.
M
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
M