Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
D
Found a deal on a 265 grain mold for diameter .430 but it's a tumble lube design vs one with large lube grooves and driving bands. Never used a tumble lube bullet before. Interested in knowing if they are favorably received.

Dan

"It's a source of great pride, that when I google my name, I find book titles and not mug shots." Daniel C. Chamberlain
GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I have never used tumble lube before either Dan. I would be concerned with my bullets getting damaged or dinged from banging into each other during the lube tumbling process. I would like to know how your experiment turns out.

Rolly
D
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
D
Rolly

As I understand it...the term "tumble" is actually a misnomer. You put the bullets into a plastic container like a margarine tub and squirt in a hefty dose of lube and just swish them around a bit before setting them on some aluminum foil to dry. You don't actually "tumble" them per se. But I too was unaware of the concept before I asked the question of the Lee tech people.

Dan

"It's a source of great pride, that when I google my name, I find book titles and not mug shots." Daniel C. Chamberlain
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Okay, Dan. Thanks for the explaination. That makes more sense than tumbling.

Rolly
H
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
H
Dan,

If memory serves you use your own grease type of lube?

They should work fine to 1,000 fps/ 25,000psi area just fine, since unlubed ones still work fine under 1,000 fps with a good tube and dimensions plus mild weather.

IC B2

S
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
S
I've experimented with the Lee tumble lube on normal cast bullets with large grease grooves, but not the bullets like the one you have. It worked OK at the 1200 fps or less that I was shooting.