Topic Options
#3204298 - 08/04/09 10:14 AM can't move crosshairs on new scope
aceman Offline
Member

Registered: 04/10/08
Posts: 53
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
I finally bought my new bushnell legend 3-9X scope after
researching the competition, and for the money it's much
brighter and clearer than the cheap simmons blazer.
However, I'm having trouble with adjustments, as I went to
the range last week and fired 3-165gr btsp @ 100 yds which
hit slightly higher and to the left of my desired 3" high.
I then moved the windage and elevation clicks as needed to
bring my POI to 3" high, then fired again, but the shots hit
exactly back to the first spot. Tried to adjust again to the
right and down slightly, but hit the same place again?!
The good news is that my groups were under 1" as these
factory hornady's have always done in my savage, but the damn
crosshairs won't move, and I can't believe that this scope
could possibly be faulty? Bushnell doesn't seem to have a
solution without inspecting the unit, and I've never had a
scope not adjust properly in 30 years whether it was $50 or
$500. Ironically, though the blazer scope wasn't great
quality, it was 100% with keeping and adjusting POI!

Any ideas or quirky suggestions with this particular model?

Earl.

Top
CI16728
#3205230 - 08/04/09 04:10 PM Re: can't move crosshairs on new scope [Re: aceman]
Popapi Offline
Campfire Guide

Registered: 12/13/05
Posts: 3236
Loc: Oklahoma City Ok
Send it back.

Top
#3205333 - 08/04/09 04:59 PM Re: can't move crosshairs on new scope [Re: Popapi]
GF1 Offline
Campfire Guide

Registered: 11/22/08
Posts: 2597
Send it back, get a refund, buy a 4x Leupold and never look back.

Top
#3206023 - 08/04/09 09:56 PM Re: can't move crosshairs on new scope [Re: aceman]
mtmisfit Offline
Campfire Ranger

Registered: 12/23/03
Posts: 1514
Loc: Helena, MT
will they move the other way? maybe you've used up all the adjustment available in the tube.

Top
#3206657 - 08/05/09 08:29 AM Re: can't move crosshairs on new scope [Re: mtmisfit]
dogcatcher223 Offline
Campfire 'Bwana

Registered: 03/29/05
Posts: 13782
Loc: Kolorado
Hold a little mirror up tight against the objective lense, and look through the scope. You should see two sets of crosshairs. When a scope is adjusted back to zero, you will see only one set, as they are right on top of each other. Look through the scope and adjust the windage and elevation controls and see if the reticle moves or not. If it doesn't move, then the scope is junk.

Or, if you have a grid type boresighter, you can adjust it and see if it moves. I just don't like to stick anything in the muzzle of my rifles, so I don't use them.
_________________________
Sponsored by Visa.

Top
#3208109 - 08/05/09 07:30 PM Re: can't move crosshairs on new scope [Re: dogcatcher223]
aceman Offline
Member

Registered: 04/10/08
Posts: 53
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Thanks guys for the input, but I found the problem with why
the crosshairs wouldn't move. The windage and elevation
adjustments have 2 tiny screws that were not tightened so the
clicks were not crisp and audible, and basically weren't grabbing the internal gears to move. Just tightened them down
and the clicks are working now.

Aceman.

Top
#3208535 - 08/06/09 04:53 AM Re: can't move crosshairs on new scope [Re: dogcatcher223]
DMB Offline
Campfire 'Bwana

Registered: 07/10/04
Posts: 13436
Loc: Grayling, MI
Originally Posted By: dogcatcher223
Hold a little mirror up tight against the objective lense, and look through the scope. You should see two sets of crosshairs. When a scope is adjusted back to zero, you will see only one set, as they are right on top of each other. Look through the scope and adjust the windage and elevation controls and see if the reticle moves or not. If it doesn't move, then the scope is junk.

Or, if you have a grid type boresighter, you can adjust it and see if it moves. I just don't like to stick anything in the muzzle of my rifles, so I don't use them.


Good point..
_________________________
Don Buckbee

JPFO
NRA Benefactor Member
NSSA Life Member







Top
#3212452 - 08/07/09 02:04 PM Re: can't move crosshairs on new scope [Re: DMB]
kenjs1 Offline
Campfire Guide

Registered: 01/20/03
Posts: 4398
Loc: Texas
thanks dogcatcher - that ID good info. OP'er glad you got it figured out. I spend a little more on scopes but have to say I have never run into a scope from Bushnell that was pure junk. Inespensive- YES, but not crap like some others. Good job.
_________________________
Oh yeah an African swallow maybe, but not a European swallow, that's my point.

Top
#3212803 - 08/07/09 04:56 PM Re: can't move crosshairs on new scope [Re: kenjs1]
dogcatcher223 Offline
Campfire 'Bwana

Registered: 03/29/05
Posts: 13782
Loc: Kolorado
Using the mirror trick is cool because it is also an easy way to get a scope back to Zero prior to putting it on a different gun. Beats counting clicks...
_________________________
Sponsored by Visa.

Top
#3212869 - 08/07/09 05:38 PM Re: can't move crosshairs on new scope [Re: dogcatcher223]
Middlefork_Miner Online   content
Campfire Outfitter

Registered: 06/16/07
Posts: 7964
Loc: Central Valley Ca.
Unless you have OCD...
_________________________

Top


Moderator:  RickBin, SYSOP 
CLICK HERE for GREAT DEALS on VORTEX OPTICS at CAMERA LAND!
Support Our Sponsors 1
Who's Online
614 registered (00_Sean, 1899sav, 01Foreman400, 1234, 65 invisible), 1214 Guests and 318 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Support Our Sponsors 2
CLICK BANNER for HUGE SAVINGS on ZEISS at CAMERA LAND!
Forum Stats
50833 Members
72 Forums
642211 Topics
9222258 Posts

Max Online: 4366 @ 10/05/10 09:36 AM
Support Our Sponsors 3


CLICK HERE for HUGE SAVINGS on TAMRON LENSES at CAMERA LAND!








Copyright © 2000-2015 24hourcampfire.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.