Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
POC Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
So I shot a pretty big 6-pointer (3x3 for you westerners)today. My sister took him to the processor, I told them to get him made into sausage and some jerky, then burger the rest.
1. How old should this deer be? I'd guess 2.5 years, I think he is way too big to be only 1.5. But his rack isn't an old looking rack, pronghorn style with brow tines, not a nice curved rack.
2. Would he have been better served as steaks and roasts?

I was thinking he might be tough, but then I was rethinking tonight that maybe not.
I'm planning on taking at least one more doe for steaks and roasts and such.
I'll add a picture later, I'm at work right now.

If anything I state appears to be medical advice, I am not a doctor; be sure to contact your family physician before making any changes in your medical regimine.
GB1

W
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
W
Venison tough is venison cooked wrong......

Tenderloins whole, 8 inch chunks of back strap, a roast out of each hind, a pile of canning chunks, some cube steaks if I feel like messing with 'em...the rest grind for burger and sausage.

We do it ourselves.........

[Linked Image]
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
I'm with Roy ...take care of it properly from the time it it's the ground til it hits your plate and all will be good....Butchering it yourself and not over cooking ensures this
[Linked Image]

My dog is a member of the "Turd Like Clan"

Covert Trail Cameras are JUNK

3 Time Dinkathon Champion #DinkGOAT

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by POC
So I shot a pretty big 6-pointer (3x3 for you westerners)today. My sister took him to the processor, I told them to get him made into sausage and some jerky, then burger the rest.