24hourcampfire.com
24hourcampfire.com
-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
After you skin it. What do you guys do with the meat? I'm going to start trapping and was curious what you guys use the meat for? Can you just bait other traps with it? I'm trapping for coyote's mostly.

And WHERE do you sell the furs!? I'm a newbie to this so please don't rip me a new one! I'm in Washington State, if that helps?

Thanks!

-Cody

-Cody.
GB1

Campfire Ranger
Online Mad
Campfire Ranger
Originally Posted by HallzyBallzy
After you skin it. What do you guys do with the meat? I'm going to start trapping and was curious what you guys use the meat for? Can you just bait other traps with it? I'm trapping for coyote's mostly.

And WHERE do you sell the furs!? I'm a newbie to this so please don't rip me a new one! I'm in Washington State, if that helps?

Thanks!

-Cody

I toss the carcasses unless I get a beaver. Then it'll be used as bait and one or two will go into the freezer.
If you're trapping yotes, there's not much you can do with them other than feed the ravens and magpies.

For selling your furs, you may want to contact your state's trappers association and get a list of fur buyers.

I was under the impression trapping was banned in WA.

[Linked Image from i.pinimg.com]

Z
OP Offline
Okay thanks.

No I looked in the game regs last night just to make sure. We have a trapping season.

-Cody.
Campfire Ranger
Online Content
Campfire Ranger
Originally Posted by stevelyn

I was under the impression trapping was banned in WA.

I thought that too. Maybe its just on public lands.

I throw the carcass away too. It sure would work as bait, but it must be buried as exposed bait is illegal, at least here.

Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
A carcass pile can work well for bait. Here in MT we have to set at least 30 feet from exposed bait. Wouldn't want to set any closer even if I could - too many birds in the traps if you set right on a big bait.