Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
H
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
H
Now this question is really for the guys that have already established thier outfit for a backcountry hunting trip for lets say 3-5 miles from the nearest trail system or rd. Food, cooking sys., tent/shelter, water storage, weapon& binocs ect., meat packing stuff please include wieghts and total pack wt.
Ive been doing this for about 6 yrs now and have conceeded that from 1 year to the next something may get tossed and something else may take its place. I would also like to draw on the experience of the many hunters that have been doing this type of hunting for years and could probably do it in their sleep.
I will detail out my gear list later and maybe add pics of what gear I feel I will never change and things I think others should also use. I hope this discussion will be a benefit and encouragement to the inexperienced hunters struggling with packing FREIGHT instead of having fun and enjoying the sport

GB1

S
Campfire 'Bwana
Online Content
Campfire 'Bwana
S
What season (early or late) and what temperature range? Is a lot of snow likely?

A wise man is frequently humbled.

KC Offline
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
This gear is what I use, not necessarily the best, just what I use. I don't carry all this gear all the time. Depends on how many are coming and anticipated weather.

Rifle: T/C Icon Weathershield 30-06, Leupold VX-III 3.5x 10x 40 Scope, Federal Premium HE 180 gr Nosler Partns

Binoculars: Leupold 10 x 42
Field Dressing Gear: 8" Buck Knife, Gerber Clam Saw, Buck Folding Knife, T.A.G. game bags.
Range Finder: Nikon �Monark� 800
GPS: Garmin etrex Summit
Compass: Silva
Maps: USGS, BLM & USFS maps

Backpack: Osprey �Exposure 66� (no longer in production � take a look at Osprey �Atmos 65�)

Sleeping Bag: Western Mountaineering �Antelope� 5� goose down
Sleeping Pad: REI �Lite Core 1.5�