Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
bigram Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
I just started shooting a SRH Casull,<BR>and am both enjoying it and getting good<BR>groups with the 454 ammo. One selling <BR>point for me was the ability to shoot<BR>45 Long Colt in it. When I shoot the<BR>45, I am getting similar groups as the 454,<BR>but at about 6 inches higher (at 50 yards)<BR>than the 454 groups. Anyone else have this <BR>experience? Any ideas why it is happening?

GB1

W
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
W
Yes I've had it happen. One thought on this<BR>is with a slower bullet the pistol is actually starting to recoil before the bullet leaves the barrel. Heavier bullets will also shoot higher sometimes, because of more recoil.

For every law that's passed, a little freedom dies!!!!!
C
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
C
DO NOT FIRE .45 COLT IN REGULAR 454 CYLINDER. Just a reminder in case you did not know. The .45 will cause erosion of your cylinder. Simply buy a .45 cylinder, most manufacturers make them.

R
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
R
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Arial">quote:</font><HR><font face="Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Cazador:<BR><B>DO NOT FIRE .45 COLT IN REGULAR 454 CYLINDER. Just a reminder in case you did not know. The .45 will cause erosion of your cylinder. Simply buy a .45 cylinder, most manufacturers make them.</B></font><HR></BLOCKQUOTE><P>Cazador, the Ruger SRH in .454 is designed to handle both cartridges in the same cylinder. It's also advertised as such.<BR> Redneck<BR>

Ex- USN (SS) '66-'69
Pro-Constitution.
LET'S GO BRANDON!!!
C
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
C
All I know is that Freedom Arms reccomends against it, they say that it can erode the cylinder throat

IC B2

C
C