Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
B
OP Offline
B
Hello gentlemen, and Ladies

I'm new to this forum, but a long time reader. I want my first post to be of something rather important to me, and I think many outdoor enthusiast would also agree of it's importance.

The image provided in this post is one that I've used by permission from another photographer in which I admire. Along with being an outdoorsmen I'm also an avid amateur photographer. It's because of this love for both I frequent the forum of a photography website. It was there I found this image.

In this Image a water fowl had entangled it's legs in fishing twine discarded haphazardly by someone, probably with out knowing how damaging his/her actions could be to local wildlife. I can't Begin to stress how much behavior like this cast a bad light on the whole sport of hunting, or fishing.

The photographer that captured this, is a Bird enthusiast. She has taken many stunning shots of Birds of Prey, as well as other species. To my knowledge, she is not an avid fishermen.

It's this that brings me here today. What image are we projecting to the non-outdoor enthusiast? could the very struggles we encounter by the wildlife activist be of our own hands?

I have to admit these images are very damaging to the sport we all love. It's damaging to the wildlife we all profess to love and protect. I think others will agree with me in saying that it doesn't take long to properly dispose of fishing line when you re spool a reel. If you must do it at the lakes, and streams you most frequently use, lets remember as outdoor enthusiast to put them in a container to be disposed of properly.