Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
E
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
E
I am still fairly new to fly fishing, I am picking it back up now after spending much of my early teens at ponds casting for bluegill and bass. So, now that I live in an area with a few streams of wild trout and within 2 and a half hours of some very good fishing I find myself wanting to immerse myself in this sport.

I currently have a TFO 8'6" 5wt, I like it but with some of the tiny creeks in the area it seems rather unmanageable. I would really like to build a 6 and half to 7 ft. 2 or 3 wt. I have decided on a kit, most likely from Cabelas but they offer a few. Any experience with these kits?

Thanks

Nick

GB1

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
There really is no need for a kit... I have seen quite a few of the Cabela's kits and the components are not all that great... The cork in the sets however IS a great deal IMO&E. Cork has gotten worse than ridiculous. A couple months ago some friends bought the kits and threw away the reel seats...

The handle components available at fly shops, etc, will be much better and will look more like what you would expect of a custom rod.

There will be little difference in ease of construction, but more satisfaction in the end. If you have no local shop it is easy to understand going with the Cabela's kits.

I remember dapping little tiny creeks with very long, very light rods and a hopper pattern as some of the most fun I ever had fly fishing...
art

Mark Begich, Joaquin Jackson, and Heller resistance... Three huge reasons to worry about the NRA.
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
as art said, sometimes the components in the kits leave a little to be desired. i have done one rod for a friend from one of those kits as his kids got it for him on fathers day. he told them he was using my tools.
i purchase a lot of my components now from MUDHOLE. i sure do miss clemens as he was near where i live.

G
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
G