-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 4 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
Atheism: The belief that there was nothing and nothing happened to nothing and then nothing magically exploded for no reason, creating everything and then a bunch of everything magically rearranged itself for no reason whatsoever into self-replicating bits which then turned into dinosaurs.

Makes perfect sense.

“In a time of deceit telling the truth is a revolutionary act.”
― George Orwell

It's not over when you lose. It's over when you quit.
GB1

A
Campfire Greenhorn
Campfire Greenhorn
A
I have a degree in theology, and I think this said it best. Theology classes were required there. In the old testament class, the professor essentially said this on the first day, and I think it's one of the smartest things I've ever heard. I'm agnostic myself (I always say I'm an atheist with no balls).
"This is a class on the bible. A lot of you in here want to argue with me. I don't care what religion you are, if you think stoned nomads wrote this book, or it is the direct word of God. I want to agree on some common ground. This book has been around a long time with a lot of people wanting to suppress it. They've all failed. No matter what your beliefs are, I think we can all agree that it must say something about the human condition to withstand all that."
I don't think anyone can really argue with that.

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
It never ceases to amaze me why a man will devote his live to something he doesn't believe in. You'd think that some small truth would sink into his head, but apparently it hasn't. Jesus said that Christianity is total foolishness to those who don't accept it so why would he spend his life teaching what he calls foolishness? Simply amazing. Sad, but amazing.