Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
G
gene270 Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
G
has anybody used these two sharpeners and what is your opinion of them, I cant sharpen a knife at all and have tried several sharpeners with little to no luck and am willing to pay for a good one since i have bought some very nice knives lately.

thanks
gene

GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I currently use an Edge Pro, had used a Smith (Lansky type), and before that used wet stones. I find the Edge Pro gives me the best edge but it did take practice and correct technique. I have no experience with a "wicked edge".

I learned once I went with harder steel it was more difficult to obtain a quality edge. The Edge Pro has allowed me to obtain a good edge - not as sharp as a factory new Case.

I want to try a cardboard wheel. I understand this is one of the best ways to obtain a razor edge but it does take practice.

The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. Albert Einstein
FVA Offline
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I'm looking/researching both these sharpeners as well and will be looking forward to the responses you get.
The Wicked Edge uses two stones in each grit making it a bit pricier if you want to get the finest stones/strops-Pro model.

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
"I want to try a cardboard wheel. I understand this is one of the best ways to obtain a razor edge but it does take practice."

This system is so easy and simple to use that it takes very little practice to learn.

One thing to remember when using these wheels, and this is true for any power grinder, hold the object you are grinding or polishing in such a way that if the wheel grabs it, it will pull it away from you instead of throw it back toward you.

Also hold it in your hand so that if it grabs, it will pull it out of your fingers instead of jamming it into your hand.

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular