Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
POC Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Originally Posted by Jim in Idaho
Originally Posted by POC
Thanks so much for your help. I tried over in the "Optics" section and got some crappy advice and started a fight....

In the Optics forum, if you say, "Good morning! It's a beautiful day today!", you will get bad advice and start a fight... wink

Maybe a sticky needs to be posted there......"Don't ask any questions here."

If anything I state appears to be medical advice, I am not a doctor; be sure to contact your family physician before making any changes in your medical regimine.
GB1

S
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
S
Yes, I did the hammer work myself--still the stock hammer in my gun. I preferred to do that rather than buy the VQ. Gave me a chance to tinker and really learn how the gun works internally. I did;
1) Stoned and polish the sear notch on the hammer (some recommend only to polish)
2) The "adjustable sear" routine on the RFC sticky
3) Polished the sides of the hammer and polished the sides of the bushings inside the hammer spring so the bushings don't bind on the hammer sides
4) Polished the hammer pin
5) Installed trigger overtravel screw
6) Installed a Tyler # 7 trigger shoe.
7) Polished and loosend to finger tight the bolt guide rods

Mine still has the stock extractor too, even though some go to a VQ extractor (mostly the earlier guns that had extraction problems)
Enjoy--you'll have fun doing it yourself--and if you mess up the hammer, you can always go buy the VQ.

Thanks for the compliments--I've always been a sucker for thumhole stocks myself, laminated or otherwise

A
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
A