Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
E
ehunter Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
E
I had a nephew dry fire my bow it was a axcident. The string to came off the limb but nothing else looks wrong. My question is how do you tell if the limbs are fine and other than eye balling it. I am taking it in to my pro shop but what else should be aware of. I have been shooting for 25 years and this was a first. I think my nephew was promptly educated and so was I for letting him pull it back in the first place cry

If there is any proof of a man in a hunt it is not whether he killed a deer or elk but how he hunted it.
GB1

M
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
M
I take it that we are talking about a recurve or long bow. As you say the string came off the limb. The first thing I would do is look over the bow well. Second thing I would do is flex it lightly at first to see if it shows any signs of cracks or hear any odd sounds. Then I would re-string the bow and take a few draws with it listening for any sounds. If all checks good I would knock an arrow and let one fly. A one time dry fire on a well made bow isn't going to do much to it. It could but in my experiances it hasn't hurt them.

Eat Fish, Wear Grundens, Drink Alaskan.
E
ehunter Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
E
No it was a compound? I looked it over i know that you can explode limbs ect that never happened. Its at the shop being looked over. I may have gotten lucky this time?

If there is any proof of a man in a hunt it is not whether he killed a deer or elk but how he hunted it.
R
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
R
I know at least a few of the bigger bow companies now dry fire their bows quite a few times during the r&d and testing of their bows.

Not advocating dry firing of bows but I think bows are built much better than 10-20 years ago. IMO

As long as the shop give sthe ok should be fine.

M
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
M
ribka has it nailed.

IC B2

Campfire Tracker