Page 1 of 2 1 2
#5668324 09/30/11
D
Dogger Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
D
Getting away from glittering generalities and gunscribe gack and into specific nuance of design, materials, etc: What exactly are the pros and cons of the Browning A-Bolt, and why do so many Campfire riflemen seem to have a disdain for them? I have no experience with them. I have a buddy who owns one in 30-06 and absolutely swears by it as a deer killing machine that has never given him a problem.

GB1

B
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
B
It's a rifle some folks love to hate. Mine were both very good, very reliable and very accurate. If I remember correctly our own MuleDeer (or his wife) likes them too.

I think many Remington owners don't like other brands of guns that shoot well out of the box. Gunsmiths need employment too you know. wink

Brian

Vernon BC Canada

"Nothing in life - can compare to seeing smiles on your children's faces."
T
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
T
Oh Jeez Brian.

Read This thread and draw your own conclusions....

Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
I have a Remington but have always been a Ruger guy. Simply put the A-bolt doesn't have the ergos, is shinier than a stripper's g-string and costs more than the Ruger.

Never really had any accuracy issues save one 300wm so I saw/see no reason to buy an A-bolt. It just has NEVER done ANYTHING better than other things out there but they sure price em like they do.

I love Browning shotguns but I'll never pay money for their rifles.

Me

D
Dogger Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
D
Wow... 34 pages on the referenced post above... i will be reading for weeks...

IC B2

V
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
V
Enjoy your read grin.............HB

S
Campfire Oracle
Campfire Oracle
S
Lots of dislikes coming from wet Alaska, and for a reason. If it works there it will work damn near anywhere.