Campfire Outfitter
D

Are these still manufactured?
Looking for a tradiditional model in 38-55

NRA Patron
GB1

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
The Brownings and Winchester replicas are made in Japan - and they did do a few in .38-55. Uberti is making replicas in Italy, but Idon't recall if they've done that caliber.

Here, C. Sharps and the Ballard Rifle Co are also building quality High Wall replicas, and I suspect you can get any caliber you want.

"...the designer of the .270 Ingwe cartridge!..."

L
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
L
Don't know whether they currently make the .38-55 Traditional Hunter. If not check on Gunbroker, etc. These guns are not rare. I've been shooting one for more than fifteen years using only cast bullets. Accurate and an excellent deer round for shots under 150 yards.

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
I recommend the C.Sharps version. They are pricey, a bit more than the "Blowning"/"Winchester" version made by Miroku and a lot more than the Italian versions. But they are REAL 1885s, like John B. and Winchester first offered them. And you can get just about anything you want, including .38-55s in any barrel length.

The imported versions all have modifications intended to make them easier to produce. NOT improvements, IMO. And the C.Sharps is self-cocking like the originals; it doesn't have that "fly" that some of the imports (and the last real Winchesters) have which drops the hammer to half-cock on loading. That is NOT helpful on a hunting gun.

It is fun to order the C.Sharps 1885 YOU want and wait a little for it to be made and delivered. Just like many Winchester 1885 buyers did in the 1880s!

Was Mike Armstrong. Got logged off; couldn't log back on. RE-registered my old call sign, Mesa.
FNG. Again.
Mike Armstrong
J
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
J
Originally Posted by Mesa