Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 4 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Originally Posted by adamrs
And how do people feel comfort wise (not so much including accuracy) as dropping elk with their .270s?

I got a spike bull last year with a .270. In some circles it would be sacreligous but I used a regular ol' Hornady 130 gr Interlock. One shot & it was about a 5 hour pack off the mt.

The .270 is a versatile cartridge & you will do fine with it.

To give you an idea of how confident I am in the cartridge, if I draw a moose tag this year & cannot use my pistol I will probably use the .270. Again with the Hornady load.

There comes a time when one must take a position that is neither safe, nor polite, nor popular -- but one must ask, "Is it right?"

Martin Luther King, Jr.
GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Originally Posted by Mauser_Hunter
I am a Utah resident now as well as going to school here. I grew up in California, but living out here a couple years ago, I switched residencies to buy guns and licenses and carry. So I would only hunt Utah.

Being said, the issue with recoil isn't my size. 6`1`` and 225, I can physically take recoil no problem. With out twitching at the shot is why I considered it more lack of experience, having only fired a few shots. My first impressions had always been positive with the .270 (granted I did like the .270 gun itself better as well)

As for the rifle, I have been thinking of the savage "RIFLE SUGGESTED BY 340mag" mentioned, but have not much thought about the weatherby. I ll try to handle that. Savage is just coming out with a new one, the axis? and ruger has their new american rifle coming out, which seems to have some good reviews. Anything that should be considered more than feel and trigger preference of the rifle when deciding?

Again, thanks guys for the posts!

You don't need a 340 Weatherby for elk. Let alone deer which is your main hunting.