Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
D
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
D
I am completely new to the rifle customization process. I am interested in buying a Kimber 84L Montana and replacing the synthetic stock with a laminate. My question is how much heavier should I expect the laminate to weigh compared to the standard walnut stock, assuming similar size and geometry? I am satisfied with the 6lb 2oz weight of the walnuts, and would be ok if the laminate weighed as much as 6 ounces heavier. I am trying to decide if this is possible, or if I should just go a different route.
Thanks,
CH

GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I am a lover of all things Laminate. They do add some weight, but are as stable as the best synthetics. Karnis will hopefully chime in as he would be the one to best address the weight issue.

Crossed Arrows Archery LLC
Authorized Obsession Bows Dealer
Custom Strings/Tuning
www.crossedarrowsarcheryllc.com
Black Eagle Arrows Pro Staff, Montana Black Gold Shooting Staff, Dead Center Archery Products Shooting Staff
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
They can be made relatively light, but not as light as the synthetic or the wood. Under 30oz would be pushing it. Doesn't mean it can't be done but the amount of wood removal (contouring, drilling and grinding) would be extensive.

If you decide to go that route you need to start with a stock that is properly inletted along the barrel channel (it should match the barrel contour), start on the forend and progress to the butt stock, then hollow it out.

Here is one I contoured, removed cheek piece, drilled buttstock, hollowed out forend, recontoured grip and comb flutes and added a Decelerator and refinished. Came in at 37oz, down from 46 IIRC. For a Mauser in .35 Whelen.

[Linked Image]

D
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
D
That may be a real challenge. I haven't found anyone who makes a laminate for Kimber.

M
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
M
I can't resist: Why a laminate?

IC B2