-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
I
OP Offline
I
Hello all, I'm very new to muzzleloader hunting and could use some advice from some experienced veterans.

I am looking at buying a .50 cal stainless CVA Optima in the non-thumbhole stock. The reason for getting the standard stock is because I plan to only shoot it open sights since that is required in Colorado where I plan to be elk and mule deer hunting. The thumbhole stock seemed like it would be impossible to get down on the stock low enough to look down the barrel. The standard stock doesn't seem optimal for this either, but maybe manageable.

This brings me to my first question. I will need to buy sights since it won't come with any. I am considering the Williams Fire Sights but since I don't know anything about open sights, I don't know if this is a good choice. I would like to be able to shoot 150 yards maybe even 200 if this is at all possible with open sights. Does anyone have experience with this sight system and it's potential for accuracy?

I plan to use blackhorn 209 powder and buy the special breech plug for this powder made my CVA. For bullets I am looking at either Hornady FPB or Powerbelts. Does anyone have a good online source for buying bullets and blackhorn powder and CCI 209 primers?

Thanks for your help as I learn the ropes.

GB1

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
The standard stock Optima comes with open sights in black, and camo.

http://www.cva.com/CVA-Product-View.php?id=40

http://www.cva.com/CVA-Product-View.php?id=34

A better bullet is the Thor.

https://thorbullets.com/

Last edited by Mauser_Hunter; 10/14/12.

Money can't buy you happiness, but it can buy you a hunting license and that's pretty close.
B
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
B
Open sight Optima = Williams Peep sight and Truglo Globe front sight. ....Bullets: 250gr Thor... Powder: Blackhorn209

You are correct, the thumbhole is to high for open sights.