Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
J
JonS Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
J
I recently got a MS260 Pro that ran great today. I will use it every so often and keep it in good shape.
Wondering about chaps, the Stihl Pro Mark are 9-ply and cost $110.
Their next level down that I am aware of are 6-ply and go for $90.
Husqvarna have some for $75, not sure how thick, etc.

What are the rationales for getting a certain chap?
I am not a pro, nor do I intend on being one anytime soon. Saw will be used in forest with blowdowns, to remove widow makers, and to make firewood.

I am 6'4", put on a set of the Pro Mark's in the 40" model and think those would be the right size.
With two lovely ladies at home, and a baby in the belly, PPE is important.
Thanks for teaching me what I need to know, once again.

Keep Smiling

J
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
J
I'd ask over on aboristsite.com lots of really good people when it does to chainsaws

C
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
C

Check out the link. They are a sponsor of arborsite.

http://www.baileysonline.com/category.asp?catid=12177

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
I use the full wrap chaps from Labonville (made in the USA) - Labonville safety chaps . You can buy them directly from Labonville or through Baileys - Baileys.

Last edited by ScoutmasterRick; 01/27/13.

=====================
Boots were made for walking
Winds were blowing change
Boys fall in the jungle
As I Came of Age

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
"Saw will be used in forest with blowdowns,"

those tangles will get you into some hairy situations with your saw running... i wouldn't skimp if i were you.

my dad was cutting one time, don't know how but his bar came to rest on his front pants pocket... right where he keeps his pocket knife....'twas the only thing that saved him from having that saw rip through his leg.

he wore chaps ever since.

Last edited by steelheadslayer; 01/27/13.

=========================================================