Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
M
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
M
topstock, what size Bridger is that?

The tree of liberty must be refreshed from
time to time, with the blood of patriots and tyrants.
It is its natural manure." (Thomas Jefferson)

DON'T TREAD ON ME

GB1

Campfire Member
Campfire Member
Originally Posted by MolonLabe

I'll find out for you.

M
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
M
I'm on my phone and its hard to make it out, but from the phone it only looks like a 3. I have no knowledge on what it takes to catch wolves, but from the little reading I did here id a thought you'd need a bigger trap.

I use 3's for yotes along with some 1.75s.

DON'T TREAD ON ME

Campfire Member
Campfire Member
I trap coyotes for the live market and use 1 1/2 Victors with D-Ring baseplates welded on, #9 wire jaw laminations welded on, good swivels, and # 2 piano wire springs work great. Usually caught just over the toes. No foot damage and they aren't going anywhere. They will be waiting there looking foolish the next day. I've used # 2 and 3 offsets, most often damaged feet, and a higher initial cost. The only advantage to the bigger traps are a larger pan to step on. I would think any quality #3 would hold a wolf, but I would most likely opt for something pretty heavy duty. There are so few permits to be had here, I would not want to chance a big male tearing up my equipment and being gone. This would go also with chains, swivels, stakes/drags. I would not skimp on any equipment with regards to holding my wolf. From what I hear, they are not that hard to catch, but can wreck cheap equipment. I have some MB750's I use in the water for beaver. I would need to check if the jaw spread is legal width for land sets, but I can assure you they won't tear those up.

M
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
M