Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
J
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
J
I am new to this and have been getting some great info from you guys. I have been asking about target rifle questions and have been figuring on getting it in .308 (whichever rifle i decide on) because of most likely hunting with it, eventually.

but if i were to just use it to target shoot and hopefully compete in leagues/events around here, and on Long Island 200 yds is the max distance around here. What is the best round/load to use???

Say I were to take hunting out of it, just shooting 100 and 200 yards targets. what round and grain bullet is best?

thanks

GB1

R
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
R
155 and 168 are never bad choices for 200 yards and less.

If it were me, and if I reloaded, and 200 was max I'd look hard into a 125ish flat base though. I think Berger may make something along those lines, Flat base are ACCURATE, and 125 gives you not much in the recoil deparrtment.

We can keep Larry Root and all his idiotic blabber and user names on here, but we can't get Ralph back..... Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, over....
R
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
R
But as we have mentioned, you damn sure better go see WHAT you can compete in, as you may buy a rifle thats ILLEGAL IE they won't let you compete with.

Its all about knowing WHAT you want before you buy IMHO.

Wife and I went to a couple of highpower matches BEFORE we ever bought. Then were lucky enough that shooters are nice, and offered if we'd come back, to try this gun or that etc.. and for a few matches we did until we decided to buy Springfield M1A rifle for me and an AR for her. And then since there were no heavy AR bullets at that time, she lost bad at 600 yards using 69s, someone gave her an M14 for a few months, and ammo... and boom our second springfield was on the way...