Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
and bought a package of baby back ribs. They had gone up around $10 or so from the last package and I remarked on the fact to Michael, my son. He replied that all meat had gone up recently like I was not aware of the fact.

I said that the price of meat hadn't gone up but that the value of the dollar had gone down. This prompted him to say that inflation had nothing to do with the recent increase in the price of meat and that if it was caused by inflation everything would have gone up.

I'd never really thought of it in that light and realized that many items have gone down in cost such as, computers, TV's just to name a couple.

Not being an economist I couldn't really offer a differing opinion in rebuttal but thought I'd throw this out before the panel at the fire. Was he correct in his statement? I didn't ask him what he thought caused the increase in meat prices but we all know that beef has gone up sharply in the past few months and now I see the increase in pork and chicken.

Will this affect prices at Norm Peterson's favorite eatery, The Hungry Heifer? wink

Last edited by MColeman; 08/26/14.

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
IMHO, one thing that greatly influences grocery and meat prices is the cost of fuel.

R
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
R
When you have used FOOD IE Corn, to make fuel instead of FOOD(beef) then things go up.

And the fuel use of corn is such a joke....

Add to that everything used in beef, or pork etc... has gone up... fuel costs, fertilizer etc... that is used one way or another in feeding the animals out, it makes sense why meat is up.

Drought has an effect too.... many folks around here had to sell out or drastically lower herd numbers in the last 3-4 years. And then things like cows, went up in price and you couldn't afford to stock back up... hence a shortage in markets.

At least thats my non educated guess.