Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
J
OP Offline
J
I posted yesterday concerning the combination of rifle, scope and ammunition and receive excellent advice from many people. Most suggested that in order to increase my chances during the hunt, I would need to get a spotting scope. After talking to everyone I could find at work who had an opinion about spotting scope optics, I thought I would ask for opinions concerning what the people at work said. Some suggested a large 20 x 60 x 80 scope (such as the Vortex Viper series). Others suggested that I wouldn't need such a big scope nor do I need the weight to carry it (suggesting a 20 x 40 x 60 model). Another person (an older gentleman) suggested that I don't need a variable scope and that a fixed scope (and he suggested a Leopold Gold ring 25 or 30). I am new to the state of Utah and have had three days of experience hunting mule deer so any advice will be very appreciated. Thank you.

GB1

S
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
S
I think the answer depends on how you intend to use it. If you plan to drive up to a ridge top walk no more than 150 yards to the point and glass miles away for long periods of time then you want the biggest baddest scope you can afford. If you plan to carry it with you miles from the trailhead in your pack to spot ridges 1000 yards away compact and lightweight are more important.