-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
I see where Browning did make some of these in .257 Roberts and .284. Appears in the gun guides that less than a couple hundred were made in .284. However can't find any info on the .257 Roberts as far as numbers, although it commands the highest price as far as all the calibers are concerned.

Any Browning FN experts here that can shed some light?

Appreciate any information.

"By the time you realize your father was a smart man, you have a teenager telling you just how stupid you are."
GB1

J
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
J
I am not really an expert, but Matt Eastman is, and I have his book. The .257 Roberts (and .25-06) was made as a special order for one year only - 1968. Sorry, but he does not give production numbers, but there were not many. In the mid '70s, early '80s I had kids in college and I bought and sold lots of Brownings and Winchesters to supplement the income. I have had some "hard to find" items come through my hands. I have never seen a .257. Eastman believes that there were 100 or 150 units made for a distributor in that caliber. Found this info in the footnotes.

Eastman advises that there were 348 units sold in .284, a standard production item. BEWARE OF SALT WOOD. jack

"Do not blame Caesar, blame the people...who have...rejoiced in their loss of freedom....Blame the people who hail him when he speaks of the 'new, wonderful, good, society'...to mean ,..living fatly at the expense of the industrious." Cicero
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
Thanks...appreciate the info. Have found out that the best info so far suggests only 25 were made in .257 Roberts during the Safari production years. Browning historical records can only account for three...one in 1965 and two in 1969, but that does not mean there were not more. I doubt after talking with Browning that 100 or so were made for a particular distributor.