Home
Posted By: MarkG 30 Degree Bag + Woobie =?? - 04/20/13
I have a 30 degree Big Agnes down bag that I recently got a good deal on. Some of you guys turned me on to the Kifaru Woobie in an earlier thread. I was wondering how much protection/ warmth do you think that would add to my 30 degree bag? Anyone have any experience here with something similar?
I don't even know what a woobie is but in my bed roll, I carry a sleeping bag and a wool blanket and a sheet and a pillow case and a stocking cap.
That way I can make several different arrangements to suit the needs, with the most extreme being wrapped in the sheet with the wool blanket enveloped under and over me inside the bag with the stocking cap on. I'm gonna say that arrangement would take a 30 degree bag easily down to zero. I put a down jacket or such in the pillow case and use it as a ta-da pillow.
Posted By: kawi Re: 30 Degree Bag + Woobie =?? - 04/21/13
Woobie? Blond,brunet,redhead all could be spendy and not wearth packen.grin
Now the Woobie plus humm??
Posted By: 444Matt Re: 30 Degree Bag + Woobie =?? - 04/21/13
http://kitup.military.com/2006/11/woobie_warmth.html

This is what I call a woobie, officially I think its labeled as a poncho liner.
Terrible bad but one still has to ask??
Posted By: MarkG Re: 30 Degree Bag + Woobie =?? - 04/21/13
Originally Posted by kawi
Terrible bad but one still has to ask??

I don't get it??? lol
Posted By: MarkG Re: 30 Degree Bag + Woobie =?? - 04/21/13
Woobie, Woobie, Woobie !!!

[Linked Image]

Is it supposed to be a shelter half or poncho or what?
It's not going t add much, and if it is any where close to waterproof, that won't let body moisture escape and you get colder yet. A 30 degree bag is essentially a summer bag.

Go buy a decent bag. That is one thing you don't scrimp on. I can make a $100 rifle work, but sure can't keep warm in a $50 bag
Posted By: brdana Re: 30 Degree Bag + Woobie =?? - 04/23/13