Home
Posted By: Fifth 444 Marlin & Elk - 07/26/11
OK,

Sadly, I sold off all my guns 5 years ago. I have been rebuilding my rifle stable for a couple years now. I came across a great deal on a near-new 2006 minted 1895 Marlin 444 with fantastic wood. I figured it would be great for timber hunting Elk.

I'm fairly savvy on rifles/ballistics and I certainly have my personal preferences. I knew that the 444 was not the same as my previous 45-70 when I bought it. However, this is my first 444. I've "Googled" around a bit to find out about safe 270-300gr. max loads. It seems there is still debate on what a generally accepted safe max load for the 444 is. Some people swear the Marlin action is dog [bleep] and must not be trusted and others claim some ridiculously high velocities. Considering this gun is a <150yd shooter for my applications, I have decided not to run "crazy hot" loads at all.

So, to my question: How many of you here have actual experience with this caliber from a 20" barrel on Elk? I can read energy numbers the same as anyone else. I am very interested in hearing from people with hands on experience with this caliber/bullet combo on Elk. I know it is plenty for Deer and arguably not enough for Browns, but is it formidable on quartering shots within 150 yards? All the evidence suggests yes but I am really hunting for opinions from people that have used it on Elk.

Thanks in advance.
Posted By: colorado bob Re: 444 Marlin & Elk - 07/27/11
Try www.marlinowners.com Lots of good info there.
Posted By: bh444 Re: 444 Marlin & Elk - 07/27/11
I can push a 270gr Gold Dot 2200fps with my M444.That should get er done.
Mine is an old one 1970 with the 24in barrel. No issues,the 300gr don't shoot as well and pound the pee out of you.
Posted By: Fifth Re: 444 Marlin & Elk - 07/27/11
colorado bob: Thanks for the link. Great site on the Marlin. Thx