Home
So I just got in a bidding war for this rifle and won....or lost depending on how you look at it.

http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.aspx?Item=412390624

I'm not even sure what I have, but it was light, compact and I thought the wood looked pretty nice, although I may have to whittle down those side panels. Is this a Brno VZ33? If it's not accurate, could I rebore to a 9.3x62? Should I have a gunsmith look it over before I shoot it? Any comments welcome, even if you think I bought a POS. Thanks
Cool little rifle, I really like the stock. VZ33 are small ring mausers and the predecessor to the german g33/40. Judging by the pictures, your rifle is a Large Ring BRNO, so maybe a VZ-24? I'm sure someone with a little more mauser knowledge will stop by with a definite answer.

Well being it still has the slots for stripper clips and thumb grove in the side of the receiver I would say it is at least a leftover military action. I am not an expert on the different Mauser actions but from the looks of things the bolt is done nicely. I can't tell if that is a commercial barrel or a military one turned down. I would not spend money having it rebored as you do not know how well the barrel was made. I built a nice .308 on an old 98 action and have another I may build on if I decide to spend the money on the bolt. The first one had a nice job done on the bolt but this one I have was done ugly. Maybe you will be lucky and this one will shoot well.
That's a sweet lil carbine,8x57Mauser is a way under rated cartridge here in the USA!!!
If I had to guess, I'd think that what you have is a VERY nicely redone and sporterized military Mauser. Probably a VZ-24. If my experience with VZ-24's is any indication, you likely will have a very smooth action. And a VERY handy hunting rifle. The 8x57 cartridge with modern loads just flat-out WORKS! Much better than it is given credit for.

GH
I don't know much about military Mausers either. The only