Home
Posted By: Moby1 Powder Measure for a handgun - 08/12/15
Currently I use a RCBS Uniflow powder measure for reloading for my rifles. Can it also be used effectively for a handgun, or should I buy a powder measure designed specifically for handguns. I ask this, because I see that there is considerably less powder used in handgun cartridges and perhaps I would be asking my RCBS uniflow too much to be measuring such small amounts at a time.

I am asking, because I have zero experience with loading for handguns. If it matters, it will be for 9mm and .38 special.
It will work, as mine has for many years. Just use a baffle insert from RCBS for consistent charges with flake powder.
Patrick:

Handgun loading is far more delicate, and " I don't like to say dangerous". than rifles.

Handguns have either straight or slightly tapered cases. They head space either on the back rim or front case mouth.

You will need to be very certain that loading data is for your guns. The nomenclature is NOT complete using only the caliber. There are many wildcats and proprietary cases numbering, some say, 10,000 all told.

Things to look out for:

1. Barrel length, short medium, long.

2. Powder type and burn rate.

3. Bullet type, construction, weight.

4. Age, pressure rating of your guns.

Pistol powder is in the upper fast range. Some loads for your pistols may take only as little as 3 grains and produce really big pressures. You will need a powder scale and a trickler. 3 grains is surely at the bottom of your powder measures capacity.

The cases can hold as little as 1/3 capacity. It's easy to throw a double charge.

In short barrels lots of powder will blow out unburned, confounding velocity and pressure expectations.

Since cases can be so empty some loaders stuff various items in the case as spacers and use a dial caliper to measure depth as a cross check.