Home
Posted By: AlaskaFE National Match legal AR - 10/07/09
Ok, I'm new to reloading and haven't fired one round in competition yet but I have a basic question. From what I've read, the service rifle competition requires that the AR-15 be pretty much a standard rifle. Specifically, I think I read where it cannot have a flash hider and that's where the confusion comes in. I've been looking at the Rock River Arms site and below is a link to the pic of their National Match A2 and it HAS the flash hider. The details on the web page also indicate a flash hider and I cannot find anything on their site about a barrel without it. So, what's the deal?

http://www.rockriverarms.com/images/products/punma2.gif

This noob needs educating.
Posted By: Mr_TooDogs Re: National Match legal AR - 10/07/09
flash hider is aok.
Posted By: Kaisersose Re: National Match legal AR - 10/07/09
You can have you on the rifle, however you do not have to.

When the Assault weapons bill was still in effect CMP changed the rules, so you could have Post-ban (NO flash hider)
Posted By: Bill Poole Re: National Match legal AR - 10/09/09
the Rock River NMA2 1/2x1/2 is what I usually recommend to beginners. http://www.rockriverarms.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=category.display&category_id=226

the NMA4 which has a removable NM carry handle is also now CMP legal

the flash hider & bayo lug are optional per CMP rules, I think it looks better and the flash hider might protect the muzzle from a drop in the grass. There is a remote possibility that the plain barrel be more accurate.

now get out and SHOOT!

Poole

Posted By: ColdBore Re: National Match legal AR - 10/09/09
The wording is something to the effect of "must maintain original exterior appearance".

As others have said, since they did have flash suppressors prior to the assault weapons ban, they are good to go.
Posted By: AlaskaFE Re: National Match legal AR - 10/11/09