Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
H
Hunt4it Offline OP
OP Offline
H
Looking for help in diagnosis. Rifle shoots randomly, will fire several and then not fire. Primer is dented, repeated attempts do not make it fire.
Wonder if the bolt is somehow being obstructed and would like to know how to disassemble and reassemble it.

GB1

S
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
S
I'm no expert but it sounds like your bolt might be gummed up. Do you have an early or later style bolt? Early bolts have a striker that hits two spots on the rim of the cartridge and later bolts are more conventional in only hitting one. Knowing the difference will help the guys on this forum who are much more knowledgeable on these guns than I.

"The universal aptitude for ineptitude makes any human accomplishment an incredible miracle." John Stapp - "Stapp's Law"
"Klaatu barada nikto"

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
"Primer is dented"

You might try a different brand of ammo. Several years back I had some Remington Gold's that would fire...sometimes. I pulled the bullets on some and found priming only part there or none at all.

Savage...never say "never".
Rick...

Join the NRA...together we stand, divided we fall!

H
Hunt4it Offline OP
OP Offline
H
This is an older model having 1 firing pin.
Did try 2 brands of ammo with same result.

G
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
G
Speaking in generalities, as I've never taken one of these bolts apart (if someone here doesn't pipe up I bet there's a YouTube video for doing it). Maybe try a third/fourth brand of ammo? Remember, the target ammo back when these were new was more often than not made with softer brass, and even copper, than what we have today-less resistant to firing pin strikes. (But in reality that's not exactly a legitimate issue.)