Home
Posted By: JoeyWommack Help getting started - 03/15/22
I apologize if this is in the wrong section but it seemed to fit here best.

I am looking to get started reloading. I have been threatening for many years to do it. Can y’all point me to a good resource for what you would recommend?

I’m a buy once cry once type so spending the money on good stuff is not a problem.
Posted By: Jevyod Re: Help getting started - 03/15/22
A kit is a good way to go to start with. I helped a 18 yr old get into reloading recently. He went with a Hornady kit, forget which one but it had the auto powder dispenser, OAL gauge etc. It really is a good kit, but you definitely don't need one that expensive. I started with a used RCBS kit, and still use it. One question, are you talking high volume, or more hobby level? I load about 800 rounds a year on my single stage press, but if I was shooting higher volume I would definitely upgrade. Pistol? Rifle?
If I could offer some advice it would be to read/ find videos before you start. Even better would be to find a handloader local to you, and get him to show you the basics.
Posted By: Torque Re: Help getting started - 03/15/22
If you are looking at pistol cartridge reloading, I would look at the Lee Classic Turret. It is easy to use and does a good job of pumping out rounds quickly. I do not worry about pistol ammo being super precise. So, a higher end pistol reloading press has never been a concern of mine. Spend the money on good dies. Take a look at Mighty Armory pistol dies. They are bullet proof and the owner is great to work with.