Home
I might be going to Texas for business in April 2014. I've had a hankering for stalking blackbuck for some years.

Does anyone have any recommendations for free-range exotics, especially blackbuck? Options for self-guided are interesting as well. I'll be in the San Antonio area.

Thank you in advance.
I'm not from Texas, so I have no personal knowledge other than what I have read. The vast majority of Texas is private land (90%?). I would be surprised if there is such a thing as free range blackbuck. Google an outfitter and you're off to the races.
Yes, there are free range blackbuck hunts in Texas, I've done it and have a friend that guides a few of these hunts each year.......I sent him a link to this thread.
Originally Posted by AB2506
I'm not from Texas, so I have no personal knowledge other than what I have read. The vast majority of Texas is private land (90%?). I would be surprised if there is such a thing as free range blackbuck. Google an outfitter and you're off to the races.

Just because it's on private land doesn't mean it's not free range. In the hill country there are lots of free range exotics on private land that are not behind a fence.

Most likely for blackbuck you are going to have to go out to the hill country which is North / NW of San Antonio.

South of San Antonio in the brush country you really aren't going to find as many exotics as the hill country. You can find exotics in a lot of places but the highest concentration will be there. If you are searching on the internet try areas around Kerrville, Llano, Mason, San Saba etc....just to give you an idea.

You never know what you are going to see out in that part of the world that is free range. One day I had to stop and let a cape buffalo cross the road.

Depending on when you come there's a good chance that will be turkey season if you want to try for a turkey, and a fair number of places will be full of turkey hunters.