Home
Posted By: Yukoner GameKing or Pro-Hunter? - 04/24/19
Which have you found performs best on really big game?

I have heard that Sierra has “toughened up” their hunting bullets, and am interested in personal experience of those who have used them.

Thanks,
Ted
Posted By: Pappy348 Re: Game King or Pro-Hunter - 04/24/19
Only ever used them on deer, but I'll bet you have a hard time finding fans of either for "really big game". Best to read the info on the
Sierra site. They vary not only by jacket thickness and type, but also by core hardness. The 100gr 6mm PH has a nice tapered jacket, but one pretty much disappeared in the chest of a doe at 100 yards out of a .243. Suspect the core is pretty soft. I like all I've used on deer, but they make pretty big holes.
Posted By: Sitka deer Re: GameKing or Pro-Hunter? - 04/24/19
180gr Pro-Hunter is the only one I have a lot of experience with and still use. I have a 300WM that does not like X bullets and loves the PH. I have used it on moose, bears, oryx, and caribou. For a cup and core I find it a very good bullet. On the Juenke it is an awesome bullet, too.
Posted By: Pappy348 Re: GameKing or Pro-Hunter? - 04/24/19
The RN? Pretty old school.

Looks like some of the info on jacket and core has been removed. Too bad.

None of the critters you mentioned are common here, except Black bears, but I'll keep it in mind if they ever become a problem.
Posted By: Yukoner Re: GameKing or Pro-Hunter? - 04/24/19
Originally Posted by Sitka deer
180gr Pro-Hunter is the only one I have a lot of experience with and still use. I have a 300WM that does not like X bullets and loves the PH. I have used it on moose, bears, oryx, and caribou. For a cup and core I find it a very good bullet. On the Juenke it is an awesome bullet, too.

Thanks Art.

Just tried to send you a PM, and got a message that you are over the limit.

Ted
Posted By: Yukoner Re: GameKing or Pro-Hunter? - 04/24/19
Originally Posted by Pappy348