Home
Posted By: Quak Boot advice - 03/15/21
Genitalmen

Need some advice for a quality hiking boot. I’m young enough that I’ve always been able to strap anything to my feet and deal with it. This past year as I approach 40 I’ve had two stress fractures as a result of cheap worn out boots and an active lifestyle

What I need is a quality waterproof boot that is good on uneven surfaces, comfortable AND durable. Use would be scouting/hiking and shed hunting. I may wear them to my heated blinds in cold but insulated is not a requirement. I’ve got bunny boots for the real cold stuff up here

Not sure if Merrells or keen are any good...they look like junk but I’m no expert.

Price is no concern. Fwiw my feet are a 13ee so pretty big and wide
Posted By: Quak Re: Boot advice - 03/15/21
Almost forgot...nothing Chinese
Posted By: dale06 Re: Boot advice - 03/15/21
Crispi makes very good boots. Not cheap though, $350 plus. I’m hard on boots but have used the Crispi GTX Colorado for several years. I’ve tried most of the major brands. These work the best for my feet.
Posted By: rem141r Re: Boot advice - 03/15/21
this last pair of merrels i have are not as good as the set i got about 5-7 years ago. but i would at least check them out. make sure that there is a tongue gusset all the way. this pair does not have it and they leak. hard to believe they would make "waterproof" hiking boots without one.
Posted By: Happy_Camper Re: Boot advice - 03/15/21
Originally Posted by Quak
Genitalmen

Need some advice for a quality hiking boot. I’m young enough that I’ve always been able to strap anything to my feet and deal with it. This past year as I approach 40 I’ve had two stress fractures as a result of cheap worn out boots and an active lifestyle