Home
I wanted to buy an electric smoker. (I have zero smoking experience though.) The girlfriend bought me a propane smoker for Christmas. Do i keep it, or exchange it for electric? Hate to hurt her feelings and swap it, especially if propane is a good way to go.

Input?
Posted By: Clarkm Re: Propane vs Electric smoker? - 12/26/21
We have a smoker that uses either, but the wife always has it using the pellets.
Posted By: hanco Re: Propane vs Electric smoker? - 12/26/21
I’ve never used anything but a wood smoker-pit. I use mostly mesquite.
I have a Smoke-N-Tex electric smoker which is stupid easy. Uses chunks or chips of any wood you wish and is as bullet proof as a smoker can be.
Just calculate the amount of water produced by a pound of propane...

It is almost three pounds produced per pound of propane.
I really like my propane smoker.

It may not be a real bbq pit that looks like a choo choo train, but it uses actual flame, rather than a hot plate.

For some really low temps, I suppose the Electric would be superior. I dont mess with the cold stuff.
An electric smoker never runs out of gas.
I have both pellet and electric smokers. I use my electric Cookshack hands down over anything else.

https://www.bbqguys.com/bbq-grills-smokers/bbq-smokers/electric-smokers
If your going to smoke in colder Temps don't bother with electric. I had a Bradley electric smoker years ago that would not get past 150 degrees if the Temps were around freezing or less without a huge blanket around it.
Electric all the way.
As usual, you get pros and cons both ways. Just use it and enjoy. It'll work fine.

That said, I use a Green Mountain pellet grill.
Originally Posted by crittrgittr
If your going to smoke in colder Temps don't bother with electric. I had a Bradley electric smoker years ago that would not get past 150 degrees if the Temps were around freezing or less without a huge blanket around it.

That is a Bradley problem, not an electricity issue.