Home
So if you weren’t doing whatever you are now, which trade or new trade would you consider?
  • HVAC
  • Electrical
  • Plumbing
  • Machinist
  • Automotive
  • Diesel Mechanic
  • Construction/Carpentry
  • Pipefitter/Steamfitter
  • Welder
  • Crain/Heavy Equipment Operator
    >Other?
I have been a machinist/toolmaker since 1967. Was out of work for ONE week in all that time. I have been on the same job for 48 years and am 77 years old and still working full time. I hope this answers your query.
Electrical, HVAC & plumbing. Construction carpentry.

If you have a child who show's aptitude to do these jobs they can potentially make more money than going to college and taking a lot of the white collar jobs.
Especially if they start their own company.
Do y’all consider trucking blue collar?
Electrical. I believe I could pick it up quickly.
Retired coal miner...30 years in the hole!
Electrician or machinist
Heating & Air conditioning
Electrical
Pipe Fitting (plumbing but only things that have pressure on them - and definitely not Sewer / drains) as well

Welding & Machinist are hard on you ..
Welding without a question. It is a personal preference and what I wanted to do when I was in High School until I took the path that I am on now.
Machinist. Like the challenges of taking on new projects/designs.
Originally Posted by STRSWilson
So if you weren’t doing whatever you are now, which trade or new trade would you consider?
  • HVAC
  • Electrical
  • Plumbing
  • Machinist
  • Automotive
  • Diesel Mechanic
  • Construction/Carpentry
  • Pipefitter/Steamfitter
  • Welder
    >Other?

I suggest considering for a trade that you can do on the side as well. Plumbers, carpenters, electricians are never out of work.

- Some trades pay better than others. Be aware of that. Some are unionized.
- Look into pension, benefits.
- Some work is sporadic. This is when those side jobs I mentioned come in handy.