Home
Posted By: WyoCoyoteHunter Wolverines - 12/05/20
This may sound silly to those who know, but I have no experience with these animals.. I have several friends that have shot them on trips, but nothing beyond that.. I many Alaska and Canadian articles and books I have read they seemed no more than a big pest.. Very clever, smart, but not as dangers as I see TV making them out to be.. I am sure any animal can be dangerous if cornered, but a couple of these have given the impression they are death waiting to happen.. Mostly I took that to be drama for the show.. But lately another show commented on how deadly they are... This one has been pretty realistic until that point.. So what is the case with these animals..???
Posted By: T_Inman Re: Wolverines - 12/05/20
My (very) limited experience with them has indicated that they're just a big badger. Tough on traps when caught and very rare to see at random (which I guess isn't too much like a badger). If they're not in a foothold trap or body caught by a snare, they're of no danger to people at all.

Their tracks look like little bear tracks to me, but in deeper snow their tail often leaves drag marks.

I am sure (hope) someone with more experience can give more and better info as I'd like to know more too.
Posted By: WyoCoyoteHunter Re: Wolverines - 12/05/20
Thanks T, That was kind of my impression but you know how TV is even the best shows...
Posted By: ironbender Re: Wolverines - 12/05/20
Pound for pound, the toughest critter out there.
It’s said.
Posted By: SheriffJoe Re: Wolverines - 12/05/20

You probably won't see one...unless you have two broken legs and are unarmed in the Wilderness.
Posted By: Talus_in_Arizona Re: Wolverines - 12/05/20
That's one of the animals I would really like to see in the wild. My sis saw one while walking her dog in Anchorage.
Posted By: roundoak Re: Wolverines - 12/05/20