Home
I am new to the 6.5 CM and have only been shooting it for about 1 1/2 years. Just started to hand load for it.

All of the factory loaded ammo boxes of the 143 gr ELD X that I have make no mention of the the recipe. From what I could gather, it was 41.7 grs of H4350.

Why did they stop printing that information?
I’ve never seen a single box of factory ammo with load data on it. Never.

For the most part, they use powders we usually don’t have access to or that we would recognize. The manufacturers buy powder in “carload” lots made to a specific burn rate (plus other measurable parameters). Federal doesn’t, for example, buy a trainload of IMR 4350. Mule Deer explains this much better than I do, but that’s the cliff notes version.
Some did indeed come with data on it.
I think it was the early years right after introduction?
I know John Barsness bought some in 2010, but I don't know the date of manufacture.
Yep, Hornady put load data on boxes of their 6.5 Creedmoor factory ammo for a while. Whether it was the load actually used in the ammo, or a suggestion, might be debatable.
From what I read putting the load recipe on the box was one of the stipulations for development. The criteria for the load was asked to a known LR shooter. That was one of the suggestions. I can't find the article.
I've got one of them boxes - saved for when the CM museum come callin' smile
Cool. What is the load?
140 gr. AMAX, H4350 41.5 gr, Fed 210M primer, COL 2.810", MV 2700 fps. from a 24" barrel

Not gonna shoot this box...
I shot those loads in my first 6.5 Creedmoor, a walnut-stocked Hawkeye with a 26" barrel. If I recall corrrectly (this was a decade ago) 5-shot groups (not 3-shot) averaged around .6" at 100 yards. Have used the same basic load in several others 6.5 CMs since then, and all have shot well--including a Ruger American Predator which shot even better.