Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Campfire Outfitter
OP Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
I am new to the 6.5 CM and have only been shooting it for about 1 1/2 years. Just started to hand load for it.

All of the factory loaded ammo boxes of the 143 gr ELD X that I have make no mention of the the recipe. From what I could gather, it was 41.7 grs of H4350.

Why did they stop printing that information?

Faith and love of others knows no mileage nor bounds. That's simply the way it is.
dogzapper

After the game is over, the king and the pawn go into the same box.
Italian Proverb

GB1

G
Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
G
I’ve never seen a single box of factory ammo with load data on it. Never.

For the most part, they use powders we usually don’t have access to or that we would recognize. The manufacturers buy powder in “carload” lots made to a specific burn rate (plus other measurable parameters). Federal doesn’t, for example, buy a trainload of IMR 4350. Mule Deer explains this much better than I do, but that’s the cliff notes version.

You only live once, but...if you do it right, once is enough.
M
Campfire 'Bwana
Online Content
Campfire 'Bwana
M
Some did indeed come with data on it.

Campfire Outfitter
OP Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
I think it was the early years right after introduction?

Faith and love of others knows no mileage nor bounds. That's simply the way it is.
dogzapper

Italian Proverb

M
Campfire 'Bwana
Online Content
Campfire 'Bwana
M
I know John Barsness bought some in 2010, but I don't know the date of manufacture.

IC B2

M
Campfire Kahuna
Online Content
Campfire Kahuna
M
Yep, Hornady put load data on boxes of their 6.5 Creedmoor factory ammo for a while. Whether it was the load actually used in the ammo, or a suggestion, might be debatable.

“Montana seems to me to be what a small boy would think Texas is like from hearing Texans.”
John Steinbeck
Campfire Outfitter
OP Online Content